RSS Feed

Daily Archives: May 9, 2011

The Cross and the Crown

Posted on

Many people want the glory without the Cross, and the shining light without the burning fire.  But crucifixion comes before coronation.  

L.B.C (171)

The glory of  tomorrow is rooted in the drudgery of today. (Anonymous)

Your life will be enlarged in proportion to the amount of iron you have endured, for it is in the shadows your life that you will find the actual fulfillment of your dreams of glory.  L.B.C

In simple English; No pain, no gain and a lot of pain, a lot of gain (or ‘God forbid’ you might die of stress)

‘To those going through the valley and shadow of death, hear this word;  weeping will last through some dark awful nights, and in that darkness you will soon hear the Father whisper; ‘I am with you.  I cannot tell you why right now.  But one day it will all make sense.  You will see it was all part of my plan.  It was no accident.” 😦

David Wilkerson

“Dear friend, you do not have to understand all God’s ways of dealing with you.  He does not expect you to understand them.  You do not expect your children your children to understand everything you do – you simply want them to trust you.  And someday you too will see the glory of God in the things you do not understand.

  J.H.M. (358)

Did you know? God is Boss.

Posted on

What do you call the person that is in charge or in control of everything at your work place.  The big boss right?  Well even at that no one person is really that in control of everything because you still have the ‘board of directors‘ to contend with.  Unless of course you are in a Third World Country where they are plagued with dictatorship.  Still as we see in current events, even the dictators are eventually ousted, 30, 40 or 50 years later.  No one human being, no matter the amount of wealth amassed or the power wielded lives forever.

I read of a newspaper article the other day that talked about a certain religious leader.  They said he was quite revered in his Continent as a holy man and a demi-god almost who was believed to have special healing and spiritual powers.  I think he may have been one of 3 million other gods.  He was uniquely known for his frizzy Afro looking hair (which is not characteristic of that part of the world) but which all admired.  I am of the indigenous Afro stock, how come no one digs my ‘frizz’?   Anyway, he died at the age of 86 of organ failure.  His organs just opt and shut down.  Millions were mourning his death and expected to go on a pilgrimage on his behalf because they remember him as a great healer and powerful leader.

Here is what the book of Colossians had to say about Jesus Christ who is also God; (That would be another topic altogether)

“He is the image of the invisible God, the first-born over all creation.  For by Him all thing were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers.  All things are created through Him and for Him. And he is before all things, and in Him all things consists.” Colossians 1:15-20 (NKJV)

I don’t know about you but that sounds like ultimate power to me.  That means He can’t die, have organ failure, be voted out, dethroned, or hear the words; “you are fired”.  Our very lives reside in His hands and He alone knows how much days we have here on earth.

Let me summarize; God is All Sovereign, All Powerful, Almighty, the King of all kings, Lord of all lords and get this Boss over all bosses.

Long Suffering

Posted on

The most difficult ingredient of suffering is often time.  A short, sharp pain is easily endured, but when a sorrow drags on its long and weary way year after monotonous year, returning day after day with the same dull routine of hopeless agony, the heart loses its strength.  Without the grace of God, the heart is sure to sink into dismal despair.   L.B.C. (124)

“Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but when the desire comes, it is a tree of life.” Proverbs 13:12 (NKJV)

“Anxiety in the heart of man causes depression.  But a good word makes it glad.” Proverbs 12:25 (NKJV)

When God delays, He is not inactive.  This is when He prepares His instruments and matures our strenght.  Then at the appointed time we will rise up and be equal to our task…  J.H.J (124)

‘Madam Z’s’ secret desire

Posted on

‘Madam Z’ always chided me about this particular accessory that I had. I will call it ‘article A’ for this story.  It was not revealing, suggestive or immodest.   She just said she did not like the accessory and besides it did not look good on me.  Strangely enough, everyone else thought it suited me perfectly.  In fact, they said I might as well have been the person who invented and designed this article .   That is to say, if anyone was to wear it they thought it should be me.

I really could not have cared less what ‘Madam Z’ or anyone thought as long as I had the thumbs up from the Holy Spirit (God‘s special radar system).  But because I had to deal with ‘Madam Z’ about three times a week, I decided for the sake of peace to lose ‘article A’ whenever she was around.

One time we were invited to a very posh event.   I had to decline attendance, because of other pressing issues I needed to tend to.  So it was a known fact that I would not be there.  However, on the eve of the event.  The main organizer,  gave me a call to see if there was a window of  chance that I would reconsider attending.  They would love to have me there if at all possible they said.  I figured it must mean that much to them to call me a few hours before, so I acquiesced.

When I walked into the main hall the next day, it was already packed and people were milling all around and enjoying themselves.  As I anxiously looked around to see if I could spot the hostess, I saw the strangest thing.  I actually saw someone wearing ‘article A ‘ in my favorite colour.  It was an exact replica of mine.  I thought to myself, I wish ‘Madam Z’ would see this lady and maybe stop bothering me.  If she saw that other people liked it too, she just might lay of me.

So I decided to walk up to the lady, and strike up a conversation.  And maybe later if she did not mind, take  a picture of her so I could show it to ‘Madam Z’. I scurried across the room like a rabbit that spotted a stick of carrot, walked right to the back of the lady wearing ‘article A’ and gently tapped her shoulder.

She turned with a broad smile that froze before its formation was completed, and I on the other hand felt the blood drain from my face.  Surprise! surprise!… It was ‘Madam Z’.

