RSS Feed

He’s got the Whole World…

Posted on

I'll stick with you.

We got your back girl!

The title phrase is not just a children’s Sunday school song. It is an

May we have your autograph please?

incredible reality that I have

come to appreciate more and more these days. The obvious fact that

everything, everyone and every situation is in the mighty and capable hands of God. I know it is hard to believe sometimes, when you have something hanging over your head, and you wonder why God will not rid you of it as quickly as possible. You know He has the power and the resources and even time belongs to Him, but still your obnoxious little burden remains.

Lately, God has been showing me another aspect of ‘The whole World in His Hands’ phenomenon. Not too long ago, I went through a phase where the people I expected to be there for me, not only were not there but they happily volunteered to sell me to the highest or lowest bidder. They had no special stake in the bidder, nor was the reward ‘something to write home about’. It was just a spitefully inspired and selfish act. Of which, I am not sure that they realized the ultimate ramification of their acts. The devil always sounds enticing, alluring and seduces with his suggestions. But of course he just does not let on about the final cost of carrying out those suggestions. After all, Jesus said in Matthew 10:36; “And a man’s foe shall be they of his household” NKJV.  Secondly, in John 4:44; “For Jesus Himself testified, that a prophet hath no honor in his own country” NKJV. Very sad for the perpetrators, but with God on your side; your attitude may very well be ‘whatever’ after you shed two drops of tears, wipe them off and move on.

As strange and as horrid as some of our trials could be, Our Saviour had warned us that the very things He went through we would go through. I know some people half perched on the wall of the kingdom of God, happily halting betwixt two opinions are disdainful of these possibilities. But the fact is that Christ does not really trust just any one with these peculiar trials. It takes a certain level of intimacy to be able to endure, remain alive and watch this; remain sane. I did not think I would ever be a candidate for these seemingly human nuances, until lo and behold, there I was trudging through the ‘valley of Baca’. Then this third scripture by our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ made sense. When Mary had come to fetch Jesus in the middle of His teaching, probably thinking he would be so excited to end everything and go outside to play with His siblings. Jesus said “For whosoever shall do the will of God, the same is my brother, and my sister, and my mother.” Mark 3:35, Matthew 12:50 NKJV.

On that note, I very well appreciated the 80-year-old Chinese woman who told me yesterday that she and everyone else around her loved me and my smile (when they did see the smile) and were praying for me. I definitely appreciate sweet little Lily (In her fifties) who just came back from Shanghai with a beautiful and specially hand crafted purse for me. As if that was not enough, we just got back from a star-studded restaurant on the west side, where Lily treated me and insisted we celebrate… Then there was Vivian yesterday, sweet Hispanic Vivian; I had just met her two weeks ago and yesterday she was also God’s hand extended. Then there were the bouquets of flowers half of them from anonymous. Then there is the girl with the lovely smile and nappy hair like mine who walked up to me with a bottle of perfume, and I still don’t know her name. I gave her a bear hug though. And the list goes on…

My very capable, awesome and faithful God has got the whole world in His Mighty Hands! And He sure uses it as He sees fit. Glory to His Majestic Name!

About Chidiwe

Still to come

Leave a Reply

