RSS Feed

Dead On Arrival (DOA)

So then he told them plainly, “Lazarus is dead, John 11:13-15

The above title seems strong and severe, but then again it would not be my hand work if it was not so :).  Actually, I had grappled with a couple of politically correct titles before this one. Titles like Signs and wonders‘ ‘Never too late’ etc. Then after prayerful ponderings, MY MASTER and LORD had me settle on this one. I believe we (yes you and I) will all find out why, by the time this blog is finished.  ‘DOA’ is a medical term used by doctors, or emergency care providers when there is nothing else that can be done to help and/or aid an individual. It means the case was hopeless or gone before the professionals showed up.

Elisha turned away and walked back and forth in the room and then got on the bed and stretched out on him once more. The boy sneezed seven times and opened his eyes.
2 Kings 4:34-36

In the holy scriptures we find a couple of instances when ‘DOA’ was overruled by the power of the Most High God. Prophet Elijah and Jesus the Christ (Son of God) being memorable and fore-running examples. Incredible feats like these makes us begin to imagine that the vessel God uses has a tassel hanging from their nostrils and/or lives in a cave with locust meals for nourishment. I remember the many instances from childhood, when God visited me or had a true servant of His, prophecy over my life and future. I worried that I would be expected to wear a black cloak and grow a beard or worse still be banished to a cave in a rarely visited and hidden region! I did promise God though, that if he let me keep my clothes (I detest cloaks), I will refrain from shopping, dry cleaning or doing laundry on a Sunday. Great deals right?… Hogwash!!!

The way of the guilty is devious, but the conduct of the innocent is upright. Proverbs 21:7-9

The foolish, trivial notions and utterances we bring before a holy, powerful and all-knowing God. When God speaks a word through the scriptures or a Spirit motivated sermon, we distort or disobey. When He proposes to prune and perfect through trials and tribulation (these does not yet include the consequence of wickedness) we wriggle right out of it and ask him to bless out deviously conceived plans. The gifts He has given, we pervert to feed the flesh and exalt self all the while proclaiming His name. In the end our cover is blown and like the house built on the sand we disintegrate and dissipate. The wise repent, reconfigure and reroute like a good GPS‘ system. The foolish and reprobate are defiant over an inevitably destructive end.

For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.  2 Chronicles 16:8-10

God is still searching for the humble vessel, not humble by the fake rendition of a hymn or the opportunistic use of His church. Not humble as in incurring the support of like minded perverts and lukewarm busy-bodies or wearing tassels for garments.  But the humble in heart that say Lord I have missed a mark or many marks as it were and I repent (denoting a complete turn around). In the inner most being of a person’s heart will God do His greatest work. That is where the call will take place and the power endued. To the extent of the power that will be bestowed is the ferocity of the attack and persecution that God’s chosen vessel will endure. But in the end a faithful God will come through and abundantly restore.  There are no short cuts or copycat promotions and there never will be.

From their callous hearts comes iniquity ; their evil imaginations have no limits. Psalm 73:6-8

Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin. Psalm 32:4-6

It was a cool and breezy morning when I roused my contented self from the huge bed and scampered around the maze that was this equally huge country house. I had come in the previous evening and after the drama that encompassed my trip, I was ready for a ‘beauty sleep’. I came down the stairs looking for my uncle (paternal) it was his house after all. As I leisurely took one tempered step after the other, I saw my uncle walking hurriedly out of my grand-mothers room head bent. For this born-again warrior, six-foot three Architectural PHD, a down-cast stance was a rarity. So I ran into my grand-mother’s room only to find her still frail body sprawled on her bed. I immediately fell on top of her frame (she is all of 95 pounds!). The downcast look on my uncle’s face and the fact that I still had some things to discuss and time to spend with my grand-mother clouded the common sense that falling on her might scatter her bones.

I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me.” John 11:41-43

He asked me, “Son of man, can these bones live?” I said, “Sovereign LORD, you alone know.” Ezekiel 37:2-4

Fall on her I did, as I began to pray with her hired care-taker in attendance. God would have prepared me if this was the day I mussed miserably to myself. I know she is born-again and almost 102 years old, but so what? And besides I originally had a flight to Frankfurt that night but knew I was impressed to visit her the previous day and spend the night with her. Two minutes into the prayer, my grandmother drew in a deep breath that would have blown the roof down and simultaneously knocked me over. Bear in mind that she is tall, very slender and quite delicate. She turned to me abruptly with eyes glaring, and called me by a name (title) she never uses and instantly began to prophecy over me. Do not forget that she never knew I was the one that enveloped her frame from the top and from behind. Her prophetic words were accurate and in line with what God already told me!

We left my grand-mother chewing hard nuts (all her teeth are strong and intact!) and eating fried chicken as she told of occurrences from the early 1930’s. It was hard to keep up with her catalog of events and meticulous recollections.  Her farewell words to me among others as I departed were; “Go in peace mighty woman of God.” (Strange because in her time and in a somewhat patriarchal society, women are not really expected to be mighty).  As my uncle and I drove away to the city, I was shocked when I heard him say soberly and incredulously in the the car, “My mother had died this morning…”

Why should any of you consider it incredible that God raises the dead? Acts 26:7-9

“Look at the nations and watch— and be utterly amazed. For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told. Habakkuk 1:4-6

About Chidiwe

Still to come

Leave a Reply

